Douglas Natelson

Professor, PI

Douglas Natelson is a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Rice University, with courtesy appointments in Electrical and Computer Engineering and Materials Science and Nanoengineering. After a bachelor’s degree in mechanical and aerospace engineering (1993, Princeton), Prof. Natelson received his doctorate in experimental condensed matter physics from Stanford University in 1998, arriving at Rice University in 2000 following a postdoctoral appointment at Bell Laboratories. Prof. Natelson has been awarded a Sloan Foundation fellowship, a David and Lucille Packard Foundation research fellowship, and a CAREER award from the National Science Foundation. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. His research interests focus on condensed matter physics at the nanoscale, including atomic-and molecular-scale junctions, plasmonics, and nanodevices for the study of strongly correlated electronic materials. A recurring theme is the use of nanoscale structures to address open questions in condensed matter physics. Prof. Natelson also has a long-standing interest in communicating science to a broader audience, and since 2005 has been writing the blog Nanoscale Views.

Loah Stevens

Graduate researcher

email: las11 -at-

Charlotte Evans

Graduate researcher

email: cie1 -at-

Panpan Zhou

Graduate researcher

email: panpan.zhou -at-

Xifan Wang

Graduate researcher

email: -at-

Xuanhan Zhao

Graduate researcher

email: xz52 -at-

LiYang Chen

Graduate researcher

email: lc63 -at-

Mahdiyeh Abbasi

Graduate researcher

email: mahdiyeh.abbasi -at-


Dr. Lam Yu, is now a Wiess Instructor at Rice --- Lam's PhD thesis (2005)

Dr. Behrang Hamadani, now at NIST --- Behrang's PhD thesis (2006)

Dr. Aaron Trionfi, now at Freddie Mac --- Aaron's PhD thesis (2006)

Dr. Sungbae Lee, now at a professor at GIST --- Sungbae's PhD thesis (2007)

Dr. Zachary Keane, now at Northrop Grumman --- Zach's PhD thesis (2009)

Dr. Alexandra Fursina, now at the Department of Quantum Nanoscience at TU Delft --- Alexandra's PhD thesis (2010)

Dr. Daniel Ward, now a staff scientist at Sandia National Laboratory --- Dan's PhD thesis (2010)

Dr. Jeffrey Worne, now working at CGGVeritas --- Jeff's PhD thesis (2012)

Dr. Patrick Wheeler, now developing distributed computing software --- Patrick's PhD thesis (2014)

Dr. Heng Ji, now a seismic imaging specialist with CGGVeritas --- Heng's PhD thesis (2015)

Dr. Kenneth Evans, now working as a postdoc with Rice's Baker Institute for Public Policy --- Kenny's PhD thesis (2015)

Dr. Ruoyu Chen, now working as a postdoc with Chun Ning Lau's group at Ohio State --- Ruoyu's PhD thesis (2016)

Dr. Yajing Li, now working as a postdoc with John Rogers' group at Northwestern --- Jenny's PhD thesis (2016)

Dr. Will Hardy, now working as a postdoc at Sandia National Lab --- Will's PhD thesis (2017)

Dr. Gavin Scott, now a member of technical staff at Bell Laboratories.

Dr. Jiang Wei, now assistant professor of physics at Tulane University.

Dr. Joseph B. Herzog, now assistant professor of physics at University of Arkansas

Dr. Pavlo Zolotavin, now a scientist with Lam Research.

Ben Huber (undergrad, 2014-15) is currently a grad student in civil engineering at Berkeley.

Michael Swift (undergrad, 2013) is currently a grad student in physics at UCSB.

Leland Richardson (undergrad, 2012) is cofounder of SIOPCO.

Reyes Calvo (visiting grad, 2008) is currently a postdoc at CIC nanoGUNE.

Jeffrey Russom (undergrad, 2008) is a senior software engineer with HomeAway.

Nick King (undergrad, 2007) is currently a research and development scientist with Proportional Technologies, Inc.